Latest School News

Senior Camogie

Commiserations to our Senior Camogie team who were pipped to the post playing against Presentation, Cork city today. The match took place in St. Vincent's GAA grounds. Thanks to Ms. Davina Noonan and Ms. Íde Trant for coaching the girls.

Welcome home!

All in Coláiste Chiaráin are delighted that our American Exchange crew have returned home safely!! Mr. Noel Malone and Mr. Matt Kelly travelled with the group and we would like to thank them for accompanying the students on this once in a lifetime trip! The group had a fantastic time and if you would like to read about what they got up to, please read the "American Exchange Blog" on the main page!

Girls Basketball

Congratulations to the girls Cadet team who beat Desmond College Newcastle West 12-08 in their first group game of the Limerick league. The following girls were involved; Aisling Griffin, Rachel Ryan, Lauren Ryan, Evelyn Ryan, Nicole McNamara, Jenny Mulcahy, Aoife Shanley, Aileen Burke, Sophie Sison, Tana Rondozai, Aimee McAvinue, Chloe Devine, Marian O'Brien, Clara Casal Georgion and Laura Monaghan. Well done girls!! Thank you to their coach Ms. Íde Trant!

Language Magazine Team formed!

The languages department is glad to announce that the editorial board of Koine', the languages magazine of Colaiste Chiarain, has been formed today. Form II languages students will be managing the magazine which will be open to all the students in the school who are encouraged to submit their articles for publication. The magazine will provide an important opportunity for students to practice with their language skills.
Congratulations to following students who have been elected editors:

Editors in chief:

Eoin Hayes (Irish)
Oonagh Pierce (Italian)
Aoife Hayes (Spanish)
Areeba  Rashid (French)

The eight language editors for this year are:

Aoife Lannon (Italian)
Adam Burke (Italian)

Alan O'Connor (Irish)
Brian Thompson (Irish)

Brian O' Rourke (Spanish)
Tiernan O'Rourke (Spanish)

Fiona Costelloe (French)
Maurice Lynch (French)

The production editor team for this year is:

Emma Moloney Stuck
Alex Ryan
Boryz Krauz

Thank you to Coláiste Chiaráin's language department who made it all possible!! We wish them all the best of luck!!

Coláiste Chiaráin Parents Association Annual General Meeting

Coláiste Chiaráin's Parents Association AGM will take place on Thursday 24th November in the school assembly hall at 8:00pm. All parents with children in school are invited-this is your opportunity to be part of a group working to support and promote our school and having a voice in our children's educational future.
We look forward to meeting you on the night!!

Coláiste Chiaráin pupil receives JP McManus Scholarship

Coláiste Chairáin is delighted to announce that past pupil Jacqueline Hayes has received the 2011 JP McManus All Ireland Scholarship Third Level Education Award.

Jacqueline was presented with her award by An Taoiseach, Enda Kenny, TD, and JP McManus, at a ceremony in the Concert Hall, University of Limerick on Saturday, November 19th. Pictured is Jacqueline with Deputy Principal, Mr. Ger O' Sullivan and Mr. JP McManus.

Congratulations to Jacqueline and all her teachers for their efforts in her education over the past six years.

The seeds for the All Ireland Scholarships were sown at a meeting at Martinstown during May 2007 when JP McManus expressed a strong desire to provide funds for the establishment of a third level education scholarship scheme for the thirty-two counties of Ireland, on a similar basis to the JP McManus Scholarships scheme which has applied at Limerick CBS since 1997. JP McManus stated that the Celtic Tiger will not be around forever and that education will be the key for success in more difficult times.

Significant research ensued thereafter and considerable support and assistance was provided by many, including Mary Hanafin T.D., former Minister for Education & Skills, her successor Minister Batt O’Keeffe T.D., Brigid McManus, Secretary General Department of Education & Skills (DES), Brian Power and his team at DES, Higher Education – Equity of Access, Fergus Devitt, Department for Employment and Learning, Northern Ireland and Richard Hannah, Department of Education, Northern Ireland.

Above: Jacqueline Hayes and some familiar faces!

More Articles...

College Prospectus



For Canteen Support & Information

Join our Parents Mailing list and Receive Email updates for parents:

Enter your address and click subscribe.


Check out our Photo Blog on Flickr

CCO - Grass Project